Introduction to book

When I began writing Coming Home to Self, I thought my intent was to:

  • express my passion for recognizing the sacred in ordinary events;
  • my preoccupation and fascination with seeing jigsaw puzzles as a metaphor for life;
  • and my propensity for noticing paradox.

What I discovered, however, is that it is also about my own life experiences, my own story. It is about what I have learned, what I am still learning, and why I am so eager to continue learning and experiencing.

Life is a learning process. It is unfortunate that it takes so long for some of us to really appreciate this ongoing process, a process that is not just learning facts and theories. It is a process of becoming aware that, in the words of Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, “We are not human beings having a spiritual experience; we are spiritual beings having a human experience.”

We have the opportunity, on this life journey, for expanding our capacity for happiness, joy, compassion, equanimity, loving-kindness, and inner peace. My hope is that in reading about my continuing journey, you may become more keenly aware of your own journey and be inspired to continue emerging into the sacred mystery that you are—a spiritual being on a human journey, a seed of incomprehensible mystery.

 

 

Share your thoughts

